[ad_1]

Supermassive Games, the creator of Until Dawn and The Dark Pictures Anthology, has announced that it will reveal a new game, The Quarry, tomorrow.

In a teaser, below, we see shots of an enormous full moon, a story of a curious car accident, a mention of a summer camp, and a very ’80s slasher movie logo.

There’s no mention of the ongoing Dark Pictures Anthology in the teaser, and we already know the next game in that series is a series finale called The Devil in Me, so this appears to be an entirely new game.

The full reveal is coming tomorrow, March 17, at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern / 4pm UK (that’s March 18 at 3am AEDT).

Details are not available yet as far as platforms or a release timeline for The Quarry, but there is a hint that the game will arrive sooner than expected. The Quarry has already been evaluated by the ESRB (it will be rated M for Mature,) which usually occurs when development of a project is content-complete and near completion.

Supermassive trademarked the name The Quarry just a few weeks ago, where it also lacked the Dark Pictures branding we’ve seen on its many other game name filings.

IGN has given The Dark Pictures Anthology mixed reviews so far. We said Man of Medan was “good”, and “offers an unnerving horror adventure” with consequences directly linked to the player’s actions. Little Hope was “mediocre”, with “uninspired characters and relatively meaningless consequences,” but we thought House of Ashes was “great”, and the studio’s best since Until Dawn was released in 2015.

Back in 2015, we called interactive horror game Until Dawn “a gleefully cheesy homage to horror movies,” praising “its robust choice-and-consequence system and keen eye on horror’s most ridiculous tropes,” in a 7.5 review.

Joe Skrebels is IGN’s Executive Editor of News. Follow him on Twitter. Have a tip for us? Want to discuss a possible story? Please send an email to newstips@ign.com.



[ad_2]