Image for representation.

Here’s the complete list of countries that are now classified as at-risk for international passengers travelling to India.

  • News18.com
  • Last Updated:January 07, 2022, 19:04 IST

The government has announced that international passengers flying to India from at-risk countries must go mandatory home quarantine. Here’s the complete list of countries that are now classified as at-risk.

— The United Kingdom

— South Africa

— Brazil

— Botswana

— China

— Mauritius

— New Zealand

— Zimbabwe

— Singapore

— Hong Kong

— Israel

— Tanzania

— Ghana

— Congo

— Ethiopia

— Ghana

— Kazakhstan

— Kenya

— Nigeria

— Tunisia

— Zambia

In December, the DGCA announced that commercial international flights from India will resume on January 31 amid rising fear of the new Omicron variant. Ahead of this, the DGCA had announced that the scheduled flight will resume from December 15. This order was revised when the nation displayed concerns over another wave due to the new variant. The DGCA had also announced that the order would not affect the current flights that are operating as it is only for the complete resumption that has now been postponed.

A month ahead of the same, the Centre decided to normalise international flight operations, which remained suspended from March 2020. DGCA further said that the air bubble arrangement that India has with several countries should remain intact.

The emergence of the new Covid variant, Omicron, first found in southern Africa has sparked a global alarm, with several countries shutting borders and imposing travel restrictions. The WHO has recently designated Omicron as a ‘variant of concern’, saying that it would take quite some time to accurately gauge its level of severity.

Read all the Latest News, Breaking News and Coronavirus News here.


Source link